The boy’s breeze

6 years. Time passes too fast these days. I’ve missed you Daniel, and coming back to Kuantan, and passing by familiar scenes and talking to familiar people, reminds me more about you, and all you had left behind.

We washed your stone. Kakak, your mom, and me, we wiped and washed your name, book and your two angels. We placed roses at your feet. We shared silence that spoke volumes.

Tonight I past Beserah. It’s exactly like it was when we were kids, nothing much has changed. It reminded me of car rides that were unplanned and the torturous times I insisted we take morning rides to the beach when all you guys wanted to do was sleep in.

I remember the wind, the sea wind. It was usually followed by us jumping in to battle Kuantan waves. I miss it. The spontaneity.

Today it as extra breezy at Berserah. I know that was you. Maybe you were happy we were there for you, or maybe you just remembered how much the sea, sand and wind meant to me.

It was the kind of wind that erased memories of the recent heatwave, it was the kind that made you wanna sit on the sand, sing songs and star gaze. The kind of night fantasies used to be made of, where the future seemed so promising. I didn’t want the night to end.

6 years is too long but it instead feels like 6 weeks. Life goes on, remember, and we poured out liquor for you, and we mourned you, I guessed you wondered “how long will they mourn me” and you got your answer, this doesn’t end.

I want to believe in what they say, in what they promise and how they say we will all be reunited. I want to believe, let’s just say tonight’s breeze, went a long way.

  

Leave a Reply

